Beef Teriyaki ( or is it )

teriyaki-vegatables-2

Is it? Ha ha just thought I would have a little fun with this one. It’s not. Beef that is. As I’m sure you can tell from the picture.

If you know a little bit about me you know I don’t eat red meat or pork at all and very little meat.

This is one of my vegetarian versions of Chicken or Beef Teriyaki.

What you will need:

  • Brocoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Zucchini
  • Carrots

Lot’s of veggies. There’s a lot of options. So use what ever you like. The above is just what I used this time. It’s never exactly the same when I make it. It just depends on what I have on hand.

  • Yellow Bell Pepper
  • Green Bell Pepper
  • Red Bell Pepper
  • 1/2 of an Onion
  • Green Onions
  • Sesame Seeds, Almonds or Pine Nuts ( optional )

For the meat:

  • Portobello Mushrooms
  • Black Beans
  • 1/2 of an Onion
  • 1 Clove of Garlic
  • Salt and Pepper

Teriyaki Sauce:

  • 4 Cups of water or vegetable stock
  • 1/4 Cup White Wine
  • 1/4 to 1/2 Cup Soy Sauce
  • 1/4 Cup Oyster Sauce (optional)
  • 2 tsp fresh grated Ginger
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 2 tsp. Smoke Flavoring
  • 1/4 Brown Sugar
  • 2 tsp. Honey
  • 1 T. Thai Chili Paste ( optional)
  • Corn Starch

I make the sauce first so all the flavors can come together. The sauce recipe makes a lot. I do this so I have a little extra on hand for another day when I may not be feeling my best. It’s a quick option to stir fry or steam veggies and toss in the sauce.

First heat the water and dissolve the brown sugar. Add all the other ingredients except the corn starch and bring to a slow rolling boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer.

While the sauce is simmering chop all your veggies.

Brown half of the onion in a small amount of coconut oil. Add the mushrooms and garlic cook until mushrooms are reduced. Then add the black beans to the mushroom mixture. Salt and pepper if needed. I find no added salt is needed in this dish for my taste. Reduce the heat to low and cover.

In a small dish or cup mix 4 T corn starch with cold water. ( enough that you can stir it well) Turn the heat back up on the teriyaki sauce to medium high and add the corn starch mixture. Stir constantly until the sauce thickens. Remove from  heat.

Add about 1 to 1 1/2 Cups of the teriyaki sauce to the mushroom mixture and simmer until reduced.

Stir fry the remaining vegetables in a small amount of coconut oil.

Serve over rice, quinoa, or rice noodles. Garnish with green onions, sesame seeds, or nuts.

 

 

 


18 thoughts on “Beef Teriyaki ( or is it )

Leave a comment