Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Cooking and trying new food is a passion of mine. I always dreamed of having my own restaurant……maybe one day!

I started making my own hummus about 6 yrs ago. I had tried a few of the store-bought ones but I try to eat as healthy as possible. So part of that for me is knowing exactly what is in my food and having fresh ingredients. I have made several versions because that’s just how I am. I love to play around with things and try different tastes. This is probably my favorite.

 What I used for this recipe

1/2 Red Bell Pepper

2 Limes

1 (16oz) can Organic Garbanzo  Beans

1 Clove of Garlic

1/2 tsp. Onion Powder (to taste)

Salt

Pepper

1 to 1 1/2 Tbs. Red Chili Flakes ( to taste ) I like mine spicy

1 tsp. Ground Cayenne

1 to 1 1/2 tsp Safflower

1 1/2 tsp. Cumin

A pinch each of cinnamon and nutmeg

1/4 c. Oil ( I prefer sesame or olive oil)

Roast the red pepper until the skin is pretty dark and evenly roasted. Juice two limes and put the juice in a blender. IMAG0082 (2)   To the juice add all the spices and half of the roasted pepper. Blend until peppers are well blended. Stream in some of the oil and blend. I don’t add all of the oil because the consistency varies. IMAG0081 (2)

Drain the beans and add half of the can to the juice mixture and blend until well blended. Add more oil if needed to blend. Add the rest of the beans and continue blending until creamy adding more oil if needed.

IMAG0085 (2)

I like to have a little texture in my hummus. For that reason I don’t add all of the pepper before blending. I chop it up and put it on top. I have also roasted pine nuts and put on top and that’s really  good too.

This is just one of my favorite easy to make snacks. There will be more recipes coming. Hope you enjoy it!


10 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

    1. Oh I’m so glad. I know it’s hard when you have allergies or other health issues. Let me know if you try it. I’ve found a few recipes on your site I have to try too. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment