Potato Curry

For the most part I don’t eat meat. Occasionally I eat chicken, turkey, or fish. I haven’t eaten red meat or pork in 13 years. You probably couldn’t tell that if you have read some of my other recipes. My intention when I started posting recipes was to share the vegetarian dishes I eat. The only reason I can think of why I haven’t done that is because most of the recipes I have shared so far have been dishes that my kids or other loved ones requested that I used to make (still make just altered to meatless)  or that have a story behind them.

This is a variation on a soup that I make.

Ingredients

  • Potatoes ( about 2 1/2 Lbs) I also make this with Butternut squash, pumpkin, or sweet potatoes)
  • 2 to 3 Cloves of Garlic
  • 1/2 of a chopped Onion
  • 1/2 to 1 chopped Green Bell Pepper
  • 1 Jalapeno diced ( less if you prefer)
  • Fresh  Ginger
  • 1 Stalk of chopped celery
  • 6 Cups Vegetable Stock
  • 1/2 tsp. Cayenne Pepper
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 3 to 4 T Curry Powder (less if you prefer)
  • 1/4 Cup All Natural Peanut Butter or Almond Butter

I add the peanut butter for the flavor, added protein, and as a thickening agent. It adds a great flavor to this dish and works quite well with the curry.  If you have a nut allergy or just prefer not to use peanut butter you can add black beans or garbanzo beans instead. I use beans sometimes it just depends on what I have and what I’m in the mood for. I threw some carrots in this time because I needed to use them up.

First peel and cut the potatoes. Boil in salted water until just soft enough for a fork to go through the potatoes. Drain the potatoes through a colander and place the colander  in a pot of ice-cold water. I do this because I don’t want them to get too soft and fall apart.

In the same pan you boiled the potatoes in add a little coconut oil. Cook the onions, garlic, and bell pepper until fragrant and the onion is golden.  Add the vegetable stock to the onions.

Then add the jalapeno, ginger, curry powder, and cayenne. Stir in the peanut butter mixing until completely dissolved. Drain the potatoes and add them back to the pot. Stir well. Salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a slow rolling boil. Reduce heat to simmer. It will thicken to a thin gravy consistency.

This can be enjoyed over rice, quinoa, or as a soup.

potato-curry6-2

17 thoughts on “Potato Curry

  1. Sounds so yummy! We too have cut out most red meat,course not cuz we want to! But i been trying to incorporate other proteins in. So your recipes are very helpful! Tonite is stuffed Portobello mushrooms! Think i can slide that one by the hubby!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

