Chicken Cacciatore

 Slow Cooker Version

I get tired some days cooking dinner. It seems like such a simple thing (making dinner) and trust me I make things as simple as possible. I’m not one for long drawn out steps when it comes to cooking. I find myself very fatigued making the simplest meals some days. By the time we sit down to eat I’m pretty much out of it. I’m not really able to be a part of any conversation. I find myself just kind of zoning out sometimes. So in effort to make this better I’ve decided I need to do things in steps through out the day. Maybe cut the vegetables ahead of time or do some other steps ahead. Or when I can use the slow cooker so it’s done, ready to serve, and I can rest a bit before they’re home.

This isn’t my usual way of making this dish but I thought I would give it a try. I didn’t hear any complaints at the end results from my critics so I think all was good. 🙂

What you will need

  • Boneless Chicken Breast
  • Flour
  • 2 Gloves Garlic
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 tsp. Thyme
  • 1 tsp. Oregano
  • 1/2 tsp.Rosemary
  • 1/2 of a Onion (chopped)
  • 1/2 of a Green Bell Pepper (chopped)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 Cup Fresh Parsley
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • 1 16oz. Can Tomato Sauce
  • 4 to 5 Roma Tomatoes (chopped) or 1 can Stewed Tomatoes
  • 1 to 1 1/2 C. White Wine
  • Pasta
  • Coconut Oil

Heat coconut oil in a skillet on med-high heat. ( just enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan) In  a resealable bag mix enough flour to coat your chicken with salt and pepper. Add your chicken to the bag 1 piece at a time or a couple if they are small pieces. Coat the chicken well and place it in the skillet. Repeat until all chicken is coated. Cook until chicken is cooked through and golden brown. When the chicken is cooked completely remove it from the skillet leaving behind as much of the oil as possible. Put the chicken in your slow cooker.

Add the onion to the skillet and cook until carmalized. Pour the wine into the onion mixture and stir the pan to get all of the chicken drippings loose. Simmer for about 20 minutes.

Mean while add the remaining ingredients ( except the pasta) to the slow cooker. Set on high until it is heated through and then turn to warm.

*NOTE – don’t stir the mixture as the breading will come off the chicken.*

After the wine has simmered and reduced some add it to the slow cooker.

Now walk away and forget about it!

Boil your pasta when you get ready to. Serve over pasta and top with Parmesan cheese.

Hope you enjoy!

caccitore-chicken-4

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Chicken Cacciatore

  1. I do most of my food prep the two days immediately following shopping, or we’d never eat! LOL! Blessed to not have had to deal with fibro when the kids were all home. And, yes – the slow cooker is a good friend of mine! Will definitely give your recipe a try – thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds yummy! I can so relate to the challenges of cooking,i almost always start getting veggies prepared in the morning,by the time i get everything prepped its time to cook,by then i am hurting so bad i dont feel like eating. So i too use my crock pot for anything i can!but i also cook noodles right in with whatever i may be cooking,i just wait a bit before adding them,that way i am not dirtying up another pot,just add a little extra water or broth!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Another wonderful dish and therefore it doesn’t surprise me anymore as I have come to expect awesome dishes for dinner every night(spoiled me), I am actually having some for lunch(more like brunch)right now. 🙂 Up next Lasagna?? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

