Turkey Chili with Homemade Cornbread

How lucky am I to have a man that’s so easy to please! No joke, I could feed him anything having to do with beans, rice, or tacos every day. He would be perfectly happy!

Easy enough and it has been a life saver when I’m not feeling my best. When I cook beans I usually cook extra so that I have them just in case. I use them to make soups, burritos, beans and rice just to name a few.

chili4-2

For the Chili

  • A pot of cooked Beans
  • 1 lb. Ground Turkey (optional)
  • 5 to 6 Roma Tomatoes chopped or you can use 2 cans of diced tomatoes if you prefer
  • 1 16oz. Can Tomato Sauce
  • 1 Jalapeno
  • 1/2 C. Green Chilies
  • 1/4 tsp. Cayenne
  • 2 tsp. Cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Mexican Oregano
  • 2 tsp. Red Chili Flakes
  • 2 T. Chili Powder or to tasteΒ ( this varies)
  • 2 to 3 cloves of Garlic
  • 1 C. Onion
  • 1/2 C. Chopped Cilantro

Cook the beans to your liking and then it’s as simple as browning the turkey and adding all the ingredients to the pot and simmering. The Cilantro really makes a difference. Gives it a nice fresh flavor.

Corn Bread

This is for a fairly small batch. Makes one 8 inch square pan.

  • 2 C. Flour
  • 1 C. Corn Meal
  • 3/4 C. Sugar
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 3/4 C. Milk
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 C. Oil

Grease and flour the pan. I prefer a cast iron skillet or a glass baking dish.

In a bowl mix all of the dry ingredients together. Add the milk, egg, and oil. Mix just until all ingredients are completely wet. You don’t want to over mix. Pour into your baking dish and bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes or until tooth pick comes out clean.

Hope you enjoy!

 

19 thoughts on “Turkey Chili with Homemade Cornbread

  1. Your chili is always right on time as it is definitely starting to get cold here and this is the perfect thing to warm up your body. It’s delicious and warms you up what more could you ask for? You are the best

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This looks yummy! And I love how you and your husband are so loving / fellowship with cooking meals. πŸ™‚
    I’m wondering if the corn bread would be good with coconut sugar? I don’t usually eat much regular sugar…
    Anyway, many blessings. Happy Holidays – Debbie

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I’m sure it would Debbie. That’s one thing I still haven’t tried. Thanks for reminding me. I don’t eat much sugar either and this does have quite a bit. In fact I don’t really eat bread but there’s just something about cornbread with chili. πŸ™‚ Next time I will try the coconut sugar.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

