Turkey Meatballs with Spinach Salad

I Love easy meals and this has to be one of the easiest. I usually make a Thai sauce to put over these and serve it over rice. My kids always liked it with my homemade BBQ sauce. So actually I usually made half and half. I just made it with the BBQ sauce here and much to my surprise I realized I was out of rice at the last-minute!

The Meatballs

  • 2 Lbs. Ground Turkey (chicken or whatever you want)
  • 1/2 C. Chopped Onion
  • 1 Clove Garlic
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 T. Parsley
  • 1 T. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 tsp. Thyme
  • 1 tsp. Basil
  • 1/4 C. Cooked Rice ( good way to use left over rice) If you don’t have rice use bread crumbs, crushed crackers, or oatmeal.
  • 1 T. Soy Sauce
  • 1 Egg (if using bread crumbs) Not needed for rice

Mix all of the above ingredients together. Roll into balls. Place on lightly oiled cookie sheet. Bake at 350-375 degrees until done. imag0760

MS kitchen hack – Use an ice cream scoop to make the balls. If you have trouble with your hands like I do from time to time this helps.

Shannon’s Homemade BBQ Sauce

  • 1 Clove of Garlic
  • 1/4 C. Diced Onion
  • 1/2 tsp. Cayenne
  • 1 tsp. Smoked Paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. Chili Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Ground Clove
  • 1 T. Vinegar
  • A few dashes Smoke Flavoring ( to taste)
  • 1 to 2 T. Brown Sugar or Honey
  • 2 – 16 oz. Cans of Tomato Sauce

Combine ingredients in a sauce pan and simmer. Needs to simmer at least 45 minutes.

When the meatballs are completely done and browned pour BBQ sauce over them. Put back in the oven for 5 to 10 minutes.

Spinach Salad with Light Balsamic Dressing

Just a simple salad but so good!

In a small bowl mix: 1/8 C. Coconut or Olive oil, 1/2 tsp. Chili Powder, 1/2 tsp. Cumin, 1/2 tsp. Paprika, and garlic powder. Place ears of corn in a baking dish and pour the oil mixture over the corn. Turn the corn in the dish making sure the corn is completely covered. Rub the oil mixture into the corn. Shake a little black pepper over the corn. You can salt the corn if you like. I don’t.

Put the ears of corn on the grill at med/low setting. Grill slowly. Turning as needed until golden. When the corn is done remove it from the grill and let cool. After it has cooled enough to handle cut the kernels from the cob.

Place fresh spinach on your plate and top with tomato wedges, corn, and a little parmesan or feta cheese. I love this combination of the spinach and corn. Black beans are yummy with this too and I do that often as a meal in itself. I like to top this with a light dressing. Cilantro and lime juice works great. I used a light Balsamic here.imag0769

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Turkey Meatballs with Spinach Salad

  1. This meal was top notch. 🙂 The meatballs were seasoned to perfection and the salad was very tasty. The only bad thing about the plate was that it was presented so well I almost didnt want to eat it, but i forced myself. 🙂 haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Making me hungry girl! Lucky me i did a bunch of meatballs a couple weeks ago & froze them! And have fresh sweet Taylor corn that i canned.makes this meal that much easier!yippee! Thanks for posting everytime i am trying to figure out what to cook for dinner! You must read my mind!lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

