Coconut Curry Chicken Noodles

Those of you that have followed for a while know I love to cook. The kitchen is where I feel most at home. There are many reasons why I love to cook. I love to see what I can create or come up with. I love trying new things. Sometimes it has been my quiet place after a long day of work. A form of relaxation.

When my kids were small both of them were usually right under me. When they started school it was a place for them to tell me about their day. As hectic as it was sometimes that was the best part of my day! The stories and laughter shared in the kitchen is what family is all about.

Now that my kids are grown I don’t get those moments as often. Last night was one of those moments. Just like it used to be. Talking to my son about life and laughing. Of course in between talking he was tasting just like he did when he was a kid. Asking when is it going to be done. “I’m starving!” Some things never change. 🙂

I made this for him last night. One of his favorites.

Coconut Curry Chicken Noodles

2 to 4 Chicken Breast

Celery

Salt and Pepper

1/2 of one Onion

2 Cloves of Garlic

Coconut Oil

Flour

1 can Coconut Milk

1/8 C. Shredded Coconut

1 to 2 T. Curry Powder

1 1/2 tsp. Turmeric

1 tsp. Cayenne  ( I add more because I like it spicy)

Green Onion (sliced crosswise)

Rice Noodles

What I do :

Chop the onion, celery, and mince the garlic. Put 1/2 of the chopped onion, celery, and 1 clove of garlic aside. Boil the chicken breast with the other part of the onion, celery, garlic, salt and pepper to taste. When the chicken is done remove and let rest. Brown onion in coconut oil until golden.

IMAG0475 (2)

Cut chicken breast while the onion is browning. Add the remaining garlic and celery cooking until garlic is fragrant.  Remove the onion, garlic, and celery from the oil leaving behind the oil. Add just enough flour to make a rue. This is where all the wonderful flavor comes from. One you have the rue add the coconut milk stirring constantly. The rue and the coconut milk will make a thick gravy. Add chicken broth from the boiled chicken to thin to the consistency you want. Add the onion mixture back in and season with the other spices and more salt and pepper if needed.

IMAG0478 (2)

Add the chicken and shredded coconut. Simmer a few minutes to bring all the flavors out.

This curry (2)

Top Noodles with Curry. Garnish with a sprinkle of shredded coconut and green onions.

 

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Coconut Curry Chicken Noodles

Leave a Reply

