Hawaiian Rice Bowls

So many of my recipes come from being a working mom and throwing together what ever I had. Sometimes because money was tight and other times it was working a lot of hours and not wanting to spend time I could be home with my kids in a grocery store. I can make something out of nothing. My siblings and I learned from the best. My mom sure knows how to stretch a buck.

It’s funny just as some of the dishes my mom threw together when things were tight are some of my favorite things she makes. My kids are the same way. Because many of our meals were this way they don’t have names. My kids would say mom, can you make that stuff? Me – Which stuff are you talking about? Kids – You know that stuff! Me – Um….. no I make a lot of stuff. It was fun. In the end they usually got “stuff” that may or may not have been exactly what they were wanting.

Simple memories but some of my favorite memories with my kids!

Ok so now that I just rambled on there is a point to the rambling. This recipe is one of those things that I made when I had a little of this and a little of that. It didn’t have a name but some where a long the way we started calling them Hawaiian Rice Bowls.

Hawaiian Rice Bowls

Brown Rice (cooked)

1 can  Cream of Celery Soup ( chicken, mushroom, what ever you have)

1 can Coconut Milk

1 Clove Garlic

Salt and Pepper (to taste)

Chicken cut into bite size pieces ( left over breast work great)

Combine the above ingredients to make the sauce and simmer. The first time I made this I wanted something quick so I used left over chicken and soup. Usually I make my own sauce because I don’t like to use processed foods.

1 can Sliced Mandarins           IMAG0285

1 can Pineapple Chunks

Shredded Coconut

Almond slices (sunflower seeds and pistachios are good too)

Chow Mein Noodles

1/2 Green Bell Pepper

1/2 Jalapeno

1/2 C. Red Onion

Green Onion

1 Roma Tomato

1 Avocado (sliced)

1/4 Cilantro

Chop up the veggies. Put chopped veggies and other ingredients ( coconut, noodles, nuts ) in small bowls. I like to do it this way so everyone can make it how they like it. Easier for me….easier for every one.

Just grab a bowl fill with some rice, top rice with some of the sauce, then pile on your favorite toppings.

I also like to add some Sriracha chili sauce or Habanero sauce.

I have made this when I’m having company over too. Works great! Easy to make hand them a bowl and let them do the rest.

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Hawaiian Rice Bowls

    1. It has been rewarding to see how they used the lessons learned in their own life. My kids aren’t kids anymore :). They both learned how to cook at a very young age and both watch their money. I’ve learned a few things from them.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Learned to make really nice dishes with whatever was around over the last couple of years. Sometimes I was surprised on what kind of dishes I could come up with almost nothing and still they looked like a lot. Love this recipe and will for sure give it a go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

